Joy Division : movies

Here are the feature films dedicated to the band and their associates.

24 Hour Party People

24 Hour Party People

On Factory and the Mancunian scene from the punk era to the bitter end of Factory and the Haçienda

Michael Winterbottom, one of England's finest movie directors along with Ken Loach and Mike Leigh, and screenwriter Frank Cottrell Boyce managed to create a movie filled with humour, music, fun, sadness, madness... Most likely different from the real story, but at the same time pretty close. The legend? The truth? Hard to tell which is which if you were not part of it - and maybe even if you were part of it! But who really cares? The movie is brilliant, and the actors bluffing!

Directed by
Michael Winterbottom

Michael Winterbottom           Michael Winterbottom           Michael Winterbottom
Photo c/o                                         Photo © Jeff Vespa                                                                                        

Screenplay by
Frank Cottrell Boyce

Frank Cottrell Boyce           Frank Cottrell Boyce           Frank Cottrell Boyce

with actors

Steve Coogan (as Tony Wilson)

Steve Coogan

Paddy Considine (as Rob Gretton)

Paddy Considine           Paddy Considine           Paddy Considine
                                                                                                                                                               Photo © Jeff Vespa

Andy Serkis (as Martin Hannett)

Andy Serkis                     Andy Serkis

Lennie James (as Alan Erasmus)

Lennie James           Lennie James           Lennie James
Photo c/o

Enzo Cilenti (as Peter Saville)

Enzo Cilenti                     Enzo Cilenti
Photo © Dave Hogan                                                                                                                                                                 

Sean Harris (as Ian Curtis)

Sean Harris         Sean Harris         Sean Harris         Sean Harris

Ralf Little (as Peter Hook)

Ralf Little           Ralf Little           Ralf Little

John Simm (as Bernard Albrecht/Sumner)

John Simm           John Simm           John Simm
Photo c/o                                                                                                                                                                                               

Tim Horrocks (as Steve Morris)

Tim Horrocks

Anna Tyborczyk (as Gillian Gilbert)

Shirley Henderson (as Lindsay Wilson)

Shirley Henderson           Shirley Henderson           Shirley Henderson
                                                                                                                                         Photo c/o

Kate Magowan (as Yvette Wilson)

Kate Magowan           Kate Magowan           Kate Magowan

Martin Coogan (as Chris Nagle)

      Martin Coogan                     Martin Coogan
                                                        Photo © Paul Cliff

and the real

Tony Wilson
Mark E. Smith
Howard Devoto
Iggy Pop
The Sex Pistols
Siouxsie and the Banshees
The Stranglers
Mike Pickering...

S Coogan S Henderson           S Coogan S Henderson L James     
Photo © Jon Shard                                                                                                                                                 

P Considine A Serkis           S Harris T Horrocks J Simm R Little     
Photo © Jon Shard                                                                                                                                               

'Joy Division'           J Simm R Little P Considine           M & S Coogan      

S Coogan T Wilson M Winterbottom
Photo © Frank Micelotta

More info at IMDB



Biography of Joy Division lead singer Ian Curtis

Anton Corbijn, the famous Dutch photographer, who moved to the UK to work with Joy Division, and later U2 and R.E.M. to name but a few, directed his first film to tell Ian's life. The film is based on the book "Touching From A Distance" written by Ian's widow, Deborah, with the assistance of Matt Greenhalgh, and is shot in black and white. Control won several prizes including at the Cannes Film Festival.

Directed by
Anton Corbijn

Anton Corbijn
Photo © Dean Rogers

Screenplay by
Matt Greenhalgh

Matt Greenhalgh
Photo © Simon Denton

based on the book "Touching From A Distance" by
Deborah Curtis

Deborah Curtis           Deborah Curtis
                                                      Photo © Natalie Curtis

with actors

Sam Riley (as Ian Curtis)

Sam Riley           Sam Riley
Photo © Dean Rogers                                                                                                                                     Photo © Dean Rogers

Joe Anderson (as Peter Hook)

Joe Anderson           Joe Anderson
Photo © Dean Rogers                                                                           

James Anthony Pearson (as Bernard Albrecht/Sumner)

James Anthony Pearson           James Anthony Pearson
Photo © Dean Rogers                                                                  

Harry Treadaway (as Steve Morris)

Harry Treadaway           Harry Treadaway
Photo © Dean Rogers                                                                  

Toby Kebbell (as Rob Gretton)

Toby Kebbell           Toby Kebbell
Photo © Dean Rogers                         Photo © John Cary   

Craig Parkinson (as Tony Wilson)

Craig Parkinson           Craig Parkinson
Photo © Dean Rogers                                                                                  

Ben Naylor (as Martin Hannett)

Ben Naylor           Ben Naylor

Andrew Sheridan (as Terry Mason)

Robert Shelly (as Twinny)

Samantha Morton (as Deborah Curtis)

Samantha Morton           Samantha Morton           Samantha Morton

Alexandra Maria Lara (as Annik Honoré)

Alexandra Maria Lara           Alexandra Maria Lara           Alexandra Maria Lara
Photo © Dean Rogers

and Herbert Grönemeyer...

S Riley S Morton      S Riley AM Lara      S Riley S Morton
Photo © Dean Rogers                                                          Photo © Dean Rogers                                                          Photo © Dean Rogers

S Riley JA Pearson H Treadaway J Anderson           T Kebbell S Riley H Treadaway J Anderson JA Pearson C Parkinson
Photo © Dean Rogers                                                                                                                                     Photo © Dean Rogers

JA Pearson S Riley H Treadaway J Anderson
Photo © Dean Rogers

French press kit
French press kit erratum

More info at IMDB and at

Joy Division
A Documentary


Joy Division - A Documentary

An account of the story of Joy Division

An excellent complement to the two feature films with Joy Division survivors, Factory associates, many other persons who were involved and rare archive footage!

Directed by
Grant Gee

Grant Gee

Written by
Jon Savage

Jon Savage           Jon Savage           Jon Savage

Main research by
Ed Webb-Ingall


Ian Curtis
Peter Hook
Stephen Morris
Bernard Albrecht/Sumner
Rob Gretton
Martin Hannett
Peter Saville
Tony Wilson


Richard Boon
Anton Corbijn
Kevin Cummins
Alan Hempsall
Annik Honoré
Terry Mason
Paul Morley
John Peel
Genesis P-Orridge
Lindsay Reade
Richard Searling
Jon Wozencroft...

More info at IMDB

Joy Division  |  Home

Update 2021-02-19    Copyright © Michel ENKIRI