Joy Division : articles


New Order : Paris Le Zénith 2002


New Order Paris Zénith 2002 ticket

Dimanche 26/05/02

New Order était de retour pour la troisième fois en l'espace de quelques mois, pour jouer au Zénith, la deuxième salle de concerts de Paris par la taille. J'avais légèrement raccourci mes vacances pour pouvoir les voir et j'étais content que ma soeur puisse se joindre à moi.

A nouveau le groupe fut annoncé par Alan Wise - "Bienvenue aux quatre de Macclesfield" - le line up était le même qu'en 2001 et le premier morceau également "Crystal". Hooky était déjà en train de danser avec sa basse comme un samouraï japonais. Bernard nous dit qu'ils n'avaient pas tourné depuis quelques mois, et cela donna au concert spontanéité, fièvre et aussi un côté un peu chaotique à une ou deux occasions !

Ils jouèrent "Transmission" - avec encore une fois un Steve absolument hors du commun - "Regret" et "Ceremony" : New Order montrait toute la vitalité et la force nécessaires pour cette chanson. Elle fut suivie par "60 Miles An Hour" - je commençais à craindre qu'ils ne jouent exactement les mêmes titres qu'en 2001 ... - et "Atmosphere", avec la section rythmique à son ... zénith.

Puis ils interprétèrent "Brutal", "Close Range" et "She's Lost Control" de Joy Division avec quelques mots d'introduction de Bernard  - "Je crois que nous ne l'avons jamais joué à Paris depuis les Bains Douches" - ce qui déclencha des rugissements dans le public. La chanson fut simplement grandiose et valait à elle seule de raccourcir mes vacances ! Suivirent un excellent "Bizarre Love Triangle" (et un excellent Hooky), "True Faith" dans la même veine que l'année passée, et "Temptation", un autre sommet avec un Bernard impressionnant au possible.

Ils terminèrent sur "Love Will Tear Us Apart", mais Peter eut des problèmes avec son ampli de basse, et Phil dût jouer la ligne de basse aux claviers. Hooky, aidé par ses roadies, put réparer et il resta tout seul à jouer une fois les autres partis. New Order revint pour un rappel et dédia la chanson à venir aux fans de Joy Division avant les premières notes de "Digital"! "Rock The Shack" suivit, puis "Blue Monday", avec un merveilleux Hooky à la basse et sur son kit de percussion. Comme d'habitude, il fut le dernier à quitter la scène.

Les quatre revinrent pour un autre rappel, qui devait comprendre 2 morceaux. Ils jouèrent "Your Silent Face", mais au milieu de la chanson l'ampli basse retomba en panne. Bernard sourit et serra Peter affectueusement dans ses bras, les techniciens s'évertuèrent, mais rien n'y fit, et Hooky se servit un verre et s'assit dans un coin, avant d'offrir à boire à un veinard dans le public. Puis ils partirent pour de bon, après un concert qui avait duré une heure et quarante cinq minutes !

Paris Zénith venue

Articles Joy Division  |  Joy Division  |  Home

MAJ 2014-12-04    Copyright © Michel ENKIRI

Joy Division : reviews


New Order: Paris Le Zénith 2002


New Order Paris Zénith 2002 ticket

Sunday 26/05/02

New Order were back a third time within the space of a few months, to play the Zénith, which is the second largest venue in Paris. I had slightly shortened my holidays to be able to see them and was happy that my sister could join.

Again the band was introduced by Alan Wise - "Welcome the four guys from Macclesfield" - the line up was the same as in 2001 and the opener "Crystal". Hooky was already dancing with his bass like a japanese samurai. Bernard told us that they had not toured for the last few months, and that made the gig at the same time refreshing, hectic, and a little chaotic on one or two occasions!

They played "Transmission" - once again Steve's drumming was out of this world - "Regret" and "Ceremony" : New Order were showing all the required vitality and strength in that song. It was followed by "60 Miles An Hour" - I was just starting to fear that they would play the exact same set list as in 2001... - and "Atmosphere", with the rhythmic section at its best.

Then they sang "Brutal", "Close Range" and Joy Division's "She's Lost Control" with a few introductory words from Bernard - "I think we never played it in Paris since the Bains Douches" - which raised a wild roar in the audience. The song was absolutely grand and was in itself worth shortened holidays! Next were an excellent "Bizarre Love Triangle" (and Hooky), "True Faith" in the same vein as last year's, and "Temptation", another stunner with Bernard as impressive as he can ever be.

They finished with "Love Will Tear Us Apart", but Peter had some problems with his bass amp, and Phil had to play the bass line on keyboards. Hooky, helped by his roadies, could fix the problem and then he kept on playing all by himself when the others had left. New Order were back for an encore and dedicated the next song to Joy Division's fans as they played the first notes to "Digital"! "Rock The Shack" followed, and then "Blue Monday", with a wonderful Hooky on bass and drum kit. As usual, he was the last one to leave the stage.

The guys were back for another encore, which was meant to be made of 2 songs. They played "Your Silent Face", but in the middle of the song the bass amp broke down again. Bernard kindly smiled at Peter and hugged him, the technicians tried their best, but nothing could be done, and Hooky got himself a drink and sat on his corner, and even offered a drink to some lucky fellow in the audience. Then they were all gone for good, after a gig which had lasted an hour and fourty five minutes!

Paris Zénith venue

Joy Division reviews  |  Joy Division  |  Home

Update 2014-12-04    Copyright © Michel ENKIRI